Let’s Go Krogering

3cc2a6882dcae40f053a02ff59999dcc

The best thing I did for myself today is that I went grocery shopping.  Yes, that is not a typo; one of the most positive things that I managed to do was to go grocery shopping at Kroger after work.  What may seem like a sad commentary on this hectic day really is a very good thing actually.  As I continue to strive to strike a balance between work and play, I have not been to the grocery in a few weeks, so, healthy food choices had dwindled to nearly non-existent levels.  Lest anyone think that a call to Child Protective Services is warranted, let me assure you that my girls were on a trip with their Dad for most of this period of near famine and are in his care this week, and they have been fed well.  What may seem like a stretch in the self-care department really is not, as buying fresh fruits and vegetables, whole grains, and lean proteins will enable me to indulge in delicious, healthy foods that will fuel my body to help it to power through my busy days.  Now, that this basic need has been met, I am better prepared to move on to meeting other needs.

My long overdue trip to the grocery store also afforded me the opportunity to do something nice for two other people.  As usual, there were long lines at the only two checkout lanes that were open, and some of my fellow shoppers were not in the best of moods and took out their frustrations on the cashiers and baggers.  When it was my turn to check out, I made a point of making friendly small talk with the two young men who waited on me and thanked them for their excellent customer service, and on my way out, I told the manager what a great job both employees did being efficient, fast, and courteous.  It is easy to complain about poor customer service, but it felt so much better to praise great service.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 replies

  1. I always thank the cashier and bagger by name when I leave the store…..I will have to talk to the manager next time. Glad you are stocked up again……

  2. Sometimes it is the simple things that make the day so much more rewarding to ourselves 🙂

  3. I remember once when I had my car serviced and was driven in to town by one of the staff. In passing he mentioned how he was the foreman of the plant and how he waited patiently for positive feedback from clients that rarely came. We never think to thank the cashiers, the store-men, or the people who fix our cars for the work they do. It may be their job to serve us, but what a boost to their day when what they do is appreciated and acknowledged.
    I am sure too your thanks in the grocery store was appreciated by those you gave it to.
    Shine on 🙂

Leave a Reply

