Delawhere?!

ab0d7aeb823e575d586381811a3834d1

While I am fond of sharing the unintentionally humorous words and actions of others, especially when they involve my special friend, I also know how to laugh at myself.  I like to think that I have a keen sense of humor and am witty, but I am definitely at my funniest when I put my lack of knowledge on display for all to see.  If ignorance is bliss, then I surely was as happy as a clam in the following story.

Irregardless of how well-educated I may be, when it comes to geography, I tend to be lost.  Recently, when making small talk at a national conference, I met a colleague from Delaware.  During the course of the conversation, I mentioned that I had never been to Delaware.  If only, I had left my comment at that, but, no, I had to add, “The furthest north I’ve been on the east coast is Massachusetts.”  As my comment hung in the air and was met with a polite smile by my colleague, it dawned on me that Delaware is indeed not north of Massachusetts.  There was no coming back from this geographical gaffe, as the conversation had definitely gone south.



Categories: Irregardless . . .

Tags: , , ,

2 replies

  1. This is funny 🙂
    I am so glad that other people do this sort of thing.

Leave a Reply

