Care Package

eb31d144a78270ef5826dfe9dbf3e535

Today was a self-declared pajama day at home.  To be more precise, it was a tank-top-sweatpants-sweatshirt-flip flop day at home, and I spent a hot Sunday by myself looking like a true hot mess, with an emphasis on the mess.  Here’s the kicker, I couldn’t have been happier.

When I woke up this morning, I made the conscious decision to move through today at a leisurely, but focused, pace.  I had my never-ending ‘Things To Do” list to guide me, but instead of racing through the day and stressing myself out checking things off of this list, I just took my sweet time and enjoyed doing.  For every household task and chore I completed, such as laundry and ironing, I did something caring for myself, like reading a new book that arrived on my doorstep and indulging in some on-line shopping.  As evening approaches, I feel calm and relaxed, and I feel very accomplished, as I look at a much shorter list.

One of the things that I had not planned on doing was inspired by my on-line shopping venture this afternoon.  It felt good to treat myself to a few items for my wardrobe (on sale, at that, which makes it feel even better), so, it made me think of a friend of mine who is in need of a care package of sorts.  My friend has been under a lot of stress and focuses on taking care of others, and this friend also tends to neglect their own needs and wants.  I carefully selected a few items from an on-line store that are sure to elicit a smile and inspire some self-care on the part of the recipient and had them shipped as a surprise.  So, even though my friend does not know it, help is on the way.

Just one thing each day . . .

 



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

4 replies

  1. Self-declared PJ days are the best! I am due for one soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

