Head to Toe

c4ee863e84f3c0f157203a6b40ab3738

I spent this Monday making positive choices that have left me feeling good from head to toe.  I kicked off the work week with a challenging interval workout that got my heart pumping and left my muscles aching in a good way, and I made healthy food and beverage choices to nourish my body.  I replaced any lingering doubts and negative self-talk with positive thoughts to remind myself that I am enough as is and that all really is well.  I was able to focus on finishing tasks at home and at work, and I ended the day by treating myself to a thoroughly relaxing hot stone pedicure.  As I write this post, I truly feel happy and content, and that is definitely a great way to begin the final week of my birthday month.

While indulging in the pedicure this evening, I had an unexpected opportunity to do something nice for two adorable children.  The nail salon that I frequent is owned by a family, so, the staff includes the matriarch of this family and her sons, daughters, nieces, and their family friends.  This evening, though, two new faces were there to greet me-two three-year old cousins.  They were impossibly cute in their respective appearances and their delightful chatter.

As I waited for my toenails to dry, the two children made their way over to me and began to chat me up.  Their grandmother immediately and gently instructed them not to “bother” me and profusely apologized to me.  As a mother of two cuties of my own, I know what it is like to try to balance working outside the home with parenting, so, I was more than happy to engage in a chat with my two new buddies about our favorite animals and their first day of pre-school today.  It helped to entertain them at the end of a long day, and their giggles were music to my ears.  When I left, I received big hugs from them, and their grandmother’s apologies were replaced by words of thanks.  It felt so good to do something small, yet kind, for them, and it reminded me that taking time for children, whether they be my own daughters or someone else’s children, is always time well spent for all parties involved.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , , ,

10 replies

  1. Sounds like a wonderful start to the week! 🙂

  2. I love how you were with those two children. It was really nice of you to take them seriously. 🙂

    xoxo, Eszter
    http://kukolina.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

