Giving Credit Where Credit Is Due

08384faea1ce6554e58c2045d78585ff

We are midway through the first week of September, and I am still trying to figure out what happened to August.  This month has gotten off to a bit of a stressful start, and I am hoping that some gratitude and kindness will help put things back into a much more positive perspective.  So, here we go.

I have been in a rather bad mood the past few days, and as I drove home from work, I felt like I was traveling under a heavy, dark cloud, even though the sky was crystal clear and the sun was shining brightly.  As I mulled over all that was “wrong” this week, suddenly, even I tired of my incessant whining and pouting and decided that I had enough.  Reluctantly and begrudgingly, I began to conjure up something, anything, that I could give thanks for today.  At first, quite honestly, I drew a blank, as the obvious often escapes me, plus letting go of wallowing in self-pity proved a bit harder than I first anticipated, as it has been a dysfunctional security blanket for me of late.  Eventually, though, I threw off that blanket, and I found that by focusing on all that I have to be grateful for helped to improve my mood and decrease my stress.  It is difficult to feel down when thinking of the love, support, and assistance I receive on a daily basis from my family and close friends; working in a place where I feel as I can make a positive difference in the lives of others; having more than enough fresh food and safe drinking water at my disposal; having reliable transportation; and countless other people, places, and things in my life that make it all the better and brighter.  While having an attitude of gratitude did not remove the stressors I am facing, it did begin to change how I perceive these stressors and my outlook in general.

After a lovely drive home, I found that I was able to go a step further and give some credit to a friend of mine for something that actually happened yesterday afternoon.  So, while this may be a day late, it never is too late to express both gratitude and kindness.  My friend’s daughter saw me yesterday afternoon, and as she shared with me a conversation that she and my oldest daughter had earlier in the day, she paused, and with genuine concern, said, “I heard you had surgery on your legs recently.  How are you feeling?  I hope that you are okay.”  While this little girl always is kind and has impeccable manners, her sweet remarks yesterday were appreciated even more than her usual nice comments.  I thanked her, and today, I sent her mom a note telling her about our exchange and complimenting her and her husband on the wonderful job that they have done in raising such a fine young lady.  As a parent, I know how much it means to me when others take the time to share kind words about my daughters with their dad and me, so, I hope that my note made her even prouder of her daughter.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

4 replies

  1. Gratitude is a wonderful way to turn things around, thank you for the reminder! Wishing you nothing but smiles and happiness for the rest of this week and always! ❤

Leave a Reply

