Table for Four

65ed1977249387a2a7f2fe7953f0db2e

This was another day where what I did for others ended up being good for me, as well.  It also was another reminder that something seemingly so small can make a big difference and that doing something positive and being kind are priceless.  So, what did I do?  I had dinner with my two daughters and my ex-husband at his home.

As I have stated numerous times in other posts, my ex-husband and I remain the best of friends, and even though we live under two different roofs, we remain a family of four.  My ex-husband and I get along well, not only for the sakes of our daughters, but because we genuinely care about one another.  From the moment we made the decision to divorce, we have put our daughters’ well-being and needs first, and we also have treated each other with mutual respect and kindness.  Operating in this manner has helped all four of us survive the pain of divorce and thrive as a reconfigured family.

So, tonight, when I dropped off our younger daughter at my ex-husband’s house after volleyball practice, even though I had plenty of things to get done at home, I accepted my ex-husband’s invitation to join them for a home cooked meal, much to our daughters’ delight.  As we ate together, we engaged in light-hearted conversation and erupted into laughter, and after dinner, my ex-husband and I watched our daughters play in the backyard, as we caught up with one another.  We looked like any other family, because that is exactly what we are.  Divorce changed our marital status, not the fact that we were, are, and always will be a family.

Being able to enjoy a family meal together was a great way to end the day, and the positive effects will last long after the dinner dishes are washed, dried, and put away.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

11 replies

  1. What a great evening for all of you. Very cool!

  2. I think you have a fantastic blog here and after reading some of your posts I decided to nominate you for the Liebster Award. You can check it out here http://startingoverasms.wordpress.com
    Hopefully it will generate more traffic to your blog as you certainly deserve it. Keep up the great blogging and I can’t wait to read more 🙂

  3. Sounds like a wonderful evening indeed! Sometimes things don’t turn out as we thought they would, they turn out even better! 🙂

    • I may not always remember that, but it is true, that, in general, things turn out better than we ever could have imagined. In this case, for all of our sakes, I am so grateful and glad that things have gone as smoothly and well as they have.

  4. This is a fantastic uplifting post. I am so glad for you and your children that you and your husband get on so well.

  5. What a beautiful gift the two of are giving to your children…..

Trackbacks

  1. Your Stories – The Un-iversary. By Kristi Jedlicky | A Momma's View

Leave a Reply

