A Rose by Any Other Name

IMG-20130925-00181

Normally, I prefer to work uninterrupted on a task, which is a rarity, thanks to the daily hustle and bustle of the day shelter for homeless men.  This morning, though, I received the most welcome interruption.  I heard someone ask one of my colleagues if I were in my office, and when this gentleman was told, “Yes”, he appeared in my doorway, bearing the beautiful pink rose in the above picture.  It was such a pleasant surprise, and I quickly put aside my work to accept this gracious offering.

The “Rose Man”, as he calls himself, handed me the rose and explained that he was giving one to each of the women who work here (my apologies to my male colleagues and our male volunteers) to “thank you all for everything you’ve done for me.”  When I thanked him for the rose and told him how this gesture had made my day even better, the Rose Man went on to say, “My mama taught me that the simplest things can mean the very most.”  The Rose Man’s mama was right indeed, as sometimes, it takes so very little to show another person that you are grateful for them, that you care about them, and that they are special to you.  That single rose made more of an impression on me than dozens of roses would have, and while I cannot recall specifically what I personally may have done to help the Rose Man along the way, I know that I will never forget what the Rose Man did for me today.

That’s another story . . .



Categories: That's Another Story

Tags: , , , ,

4 replies

  1. Awe indeed, more special than dozens of roses any day! 🙂

  2. Ability to obtain a rose tells you something about a person. They can access some minimum resources to do it. Then, they are inclined to do it. It’s not something too common around the streets nowadays.

Leave a Reply

