The Apple of My Eye

IMG-20130911-00121

Fall is my favorite season, hands down, or hands up, for that matter.  I love the warm days and cool nights, the brilliant color of the leaves as they turn from green to shades of gold and red, and all of the special treats and festivities associated with this time of the year.  Recently, and not surprisingly, I was craving something sweet to eat at work, and I was unexpectedly presented with a fall delicacy-a candied apple.  What made this surprise all the sweeter was the person who gave it to me.

I walked out of my office, still craving sweets, when Ed, an older gentleman who frequents the day shelter for homeless men, called me over to the table where he was seated at with his friends.  I refer to Ed and his friends jokingly as “my posse”, and we have shared smiles and tears during our daily interactions here.  As I approached Ed, he began rummaging through his backpack, the one that contains all of his life’s possessions, saying, “I have something for you, Sunshine.”  After a few minutes of searching, he pulled out a candied apple protected in a plastic encasement, handed it to me with a big grin, and added, “I don’t know why, but I thought of you when I saw this, so, I got it for you.”  I don’t know which surprised me more; the fact that my prayers for something sweet to eat had been answered or that Ed thought enough of me to get me that candied apple.  Actually, I do know the answer; it definitely was the latter.

I have said it before and I have said it again, and I will keep on saying it.  There is something so profound about someone who has so very little in the way of money and material things, yet still finds a way to be kind and generous to someone else.  It is a reminder that at our core, most people want to give back to others and to make a positive difference in the lives of those they meet.  The men who come to the day shelter are in survival mode and have a myriad of things that weigh heavily on their minds and hearts, so, to have Ed remember me in this simple way was truly special indeed.  That candied apple proved to be sweeter than any treat that I ever could have imagined!

That’s another story . . .



Categories: That's Another Story

Tags: , , , ,

6 replies

  1. wonderful story! I worked with the homeless population for twelve years and its true happiness really is not about money.

  2. Ed is such a wonderful example of how we should all reach to others even when we have our own worries…..I love your stories about your work place.

Leave a Reply

