Duly Noted

IMG-20130930-00185

 

As much as I love to write, I also enjoy reading the words of other authors.  Last Thursday morning, as I hurried out of the day shelter for homeless men where I work, I was handed the carefully folded up note pictured above by one of the older men who is a regular guest. I affectionately refer to him as “My Stan Man”, and the note he slipped to me has become cherished reading material.  I will his words speak for themselves, as I would fail to do them justice:

“Dear Kristi, I missed you while you were gone.  I thought that you had found another job. Very happy to see your smiling face every day.  You are just a sweet person to know.  Glad that you are back to work.  Hope you are feeling better.  I am glad that your kids are feeling better.  Please, don’t think I’m smothering you with these notes.  I am not.  I just want you to know how much you have meant to me since meeting.  Write back.  Love you, Stan

I did write back, per Stan’s request, but my words could not compare with his own words.  There is something about being loved and accepted by those who are shunned and forgotten by society in general that is so very special, humbling, and almost sacred.

That’s another story .  .  .

 



Categories: That's Another Story

Tags: , , ,

4 replies

  1. Yes it is definitely one of our needs – to be accepted and appreciated.

  2. Everyone just wants to feel valued and accepted for who they are. You offer the men at the shelter such a wonderful genuine acceptance.

Leave a Reply

