Wake Me Up When December Ends

b5ef373710b4fab05667ae602ce9a36f

One month from today is Christmas Day, and like many people, I am counting down the days until it arrives, but for a different reason.  I do not like Christmas.  At all.   More accurately, I do not like what Christmas has become.  At all.  I am counting down the days until Christmas is over and done for one more year.  The most wonderful time of the year for me is when Christmas gives way to the fresh start that a new year brings, and it cannot get here soon enough.

I cannot blame my lack of love for Christmas on growing older and more cynical, for even as a little girl, Christmas wasn’t the magical season for me that it seemed to be for others.  There was no definitive moment or event that dashed my Christmas spirit, as I always remember feeling an underlying melancholy during the holidays that was exasperated by the societal pressure to be merry and bright.  Today, those holiday blues crept out once again to remind me that I feel like I belong on the Island of Misfit Toys during the holiday season.

I will confess to enjoying the twinkle of Christmas lights against the black dark of winter’s night, and certain Christmas songs have special meaning for me.  For the most part, though, I can do without the overdose of holiday parties, shopping, gifts, cards, and all of the other tasks that stress me out more than warm my heart.  I don’t begrudge anyone who chooses to embrace Christmas to the fullest, and I don’t spoil other people’s enjoyment of the season’s festivities.  My daughters and I will decorate our home, light our Advent candles, and exchange gifts with loved ones, but I will forgo the following;

  • shopping in a frenzy.  On-line shopping and buying from local shops are where it’s at!
  • sending out cards.  I stopped doing this 2 years ago, and the time and money it saved me were gifts to myself.  I felt like a rebel!
  • attending parties with people I don’t enjoy spending time with the other 11 months a year, so, I won’t feel obligated to do so now, just because it’s December.
  • feeling guilty that I am not a tinsel tossing, carol singing, red and green wearing, ho-ho-ho-ing ambassador of Christmas cheer.  I am not exactly Scrooge or the Grinch, but I am not overly holly or jolly, either.  I am perfectly okay with this.

So, there you have it.  This confession may earn me a lump of coal, but I believe that confession is good for the soul.  Let the countdown to Christmas now begin.

That’s another story . . .



Categories: That's Another Story

Tags: , , ,

9 replies

  1. I love you! I feel the exact same way however I have never, ever sent out Christmas cards! I will participate in Black friday but only because Adelaide and I have made it an all night tradition and it’s the only night of the year where we stay up until morning hanging out and buying $1 gloves and other cheap, fun stuff.

  2. We are alike in some ways. I don’t shop, I don’t give gifts, I don’t send cards, I don’t attend parties, I won’t be putting up a tree or decorate. I will send my Son and grandbabies a bit of money and will go to a family get together in January. I still love Christmas and the memories from childhood. I don’t like what it has become for so many. So Merry Christmas to the Scrooges, Grinches, holly jollies and everyone else.

    • I am glad that I am not alone in this, and if it weren’t for my daughters, I definitely would follow your lead. It truly has become too much for me, and I welcome the quiet that follows Christmas.

      • I left CA two years ago but even before that when we would go to the kids for Christmas, we didn’t put up our tree. When Josh was growing up we did the whole present thing but not overboard. I was never good at cards and for a couple years I did a Christmas letter on the computer, printed out copies and sent that. Family liked it because I lived 2000 miles away and they could read what I did that year. We raised Josh to be pretty frugal but that doesn’t work when the major bread winner likes to overspend and she does. She’s one of those crazies with every new decoration, more lights for the outside of the house, more and bigger presents for the girls. It’s nuts, they could be rich if she could stop buying for holidays. As you say, that’s another story. Merry Christmas Kristi!

      • A very merry Christmas to you and yours, and here’s to finding time for silent nights!

  3. I’m right with you. I don’t enter a mall after Thanksgiving, and I do all of my shopping online as well. No way I’m getting out in the madness. I keep our peaceful lights twinkling and as much quiet as possible…that’s Christmas for us.

Trackbacks

  1. Starting Over: An Opportunity or An Excuse? « That's Another Story

Leave a Reply

