The Simple Pleasures of Saturday

ab062feb14298a74dd56cf4881547d6c

Today felt like the calm before the storm, as Louisville prepares for arctic temperatures and snow tomorrow, so, I took full advantage of this opportunity to do some good for myself and for a few other people.  Sometimes, it is the simple things in life that can make myself and others smile:

  • I began the day snuggling with my youngest daughter in bed, instead of rushing to get up and get started on the tasks that awaited me.  When I was hugging her, she said, “Mom, this is the best way to start the day.”  I agreed.
  • I sent a message to my sweet friend who has had a recurrence of cancer and had a PET scan today to let her know that I was thinking of her, and I prayed like crazy that the scan went well.  Since I cannot physically be there, I wanted  to do something to support her, and I will continue to do so throughout her latest battle to send cancer packing.
  • I went to see a new massage therapist today for truly one of the most healing massages I have ever had.  It was as much of a spiritual experience as it was a physical one, and I left feeling much more relaxed and centered.  It was the best thing, by far, that I did for myself today.
  • With my oldest daughter spending the night at a friend’s house, my younger daughter and I spent some quality time together, just the two of us, which is a special treat indeed.  We indulged in some funny and sweet conversations, shared a delicious dinner, and made a trip to one of the local malls so that she could use some of her Christmas gift cards at Claire’s and Justice.  If you have been to either one of these stores, you know that I deserve major points for visiting both in the same evening and living to tell about it!

Those little things really did mean a lot today, and it reminded me that practicing kindness can help me weather the storms that rage in my own life.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 replies

  1. Sounds like a wonderful day and extra huge points for braving Clair’s and Justice! 🙂

  2. What a beautiful day! And you got a massage! Double YAY! =)

    • Christina, any day that involves a massage is definitely a beautiful day:) One of my self-care resolutions is to have a therapeutic massage every 4-6 weeks, and that’s exactly what I intend to do. Afterward, I feel so relaxed and content, and I just want to bottle that feeling. Hope it is a beautiful and girly day for you!

Leave a Reply

