Instead Of . . .

9c1bf4db17388977f3338e3dd909cc66

Rain ushered in the new week, but it could not dampen my spirits or wash away my commitment to being kind to myself and others today.  As I went through the day, I was reminded at every turn that small acts of kindness are every bit of important as grander acts.  Too often, I get caught up in the hustle and bustle of every day life, and I miss out on the opportunity to practice being positive and kind.  Today, though, I slowed down and decided to show kindness, instead of letting the chance to do so pass me by:

  • Instead of allowing myself to be overwhelmed by the myriad of tasks to be completed at work, I focused on how fortunate I am to have a job and reminded myself that I have a proven track record of meeting deadlines and doing good work.
  • Instead of worrying about a major decision on the horizon, I gave thanks for the opportunity that has been presented to me and trusted that I would make the best decision when the time comes. 
  • Instead of confining myself to my desk, I helped out in the day shelter for homeless men where I work and took the time to chat with the guests and actively listened to each person for as long as they wanted to talk with me.
  • Instead of spending the evening tackling household chores, I went to my younger daughter’s basketball scrimmage to cheer for her and the rest of her team.
  • Instead of sabotaging my health and wellness plans, I honored them, even when tempted not to do so.
  • Instead of operating from a scarcity mindset, I invested in my IRA and sent in a contribution to my high school.

Being kind and positive comes down to the choices I make regarding what I say, do, and think, and today, I chose wisely.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

12 replies

  1. I love, love the quote! And it’s so true it’s a choice to be positive even as challenging as it is in the moment sometimes! 🙂

  2. Sounds like a wonderful day =) You rock, Kristi!

  3. I love this post. So many of us pursue a huge idea of happiness, but it is these little things in every day, these little choices we make that cause the biggest shifts – sounds like you had a great day 🙂

  4. These are great ways of slowing down against the feeling of rushing, taking control of your mind and moving on to positive actions.
    I am so proud 🙂

Leave a Reply

