Lunch Time

68c70da7f7161cb7b5238aa988c035b0

Far too frequently, my lunch break at work has either been non-existent, as I spend time working on one more task instead of eating just one bite, or I gulp down my standard carton of Greek yogurt to get back to the work that awaits me.  Going out to lunch is a rare treat.  Today, though, called for a treat to beat the cold, overcast day and the long week, so, I did something good for myself and for one of my colleagues.

We have twenty staff members at work, but there are only a handful of us who eat lunch in the small break room that is tucked away in the back of the day shelter.  While it may be a confined space, it cannot contain the raucous laughter and lively chatter that emanates from it when we gather to eat together, especially when our Plant Manager, Frank, and I are involved.  Over the years, we have become “lunch buddies”.

We are seemingly unlikely pair, but as I like to tease Frank, we go together like ebony and ivory.  While we see each other throughout the day, lunchtime is our chance to really catch up and chat.  Frank normally brings leftovers from the previous night’s dinner, which put my yogurt to shame, as they are typically southern delicacies, such as fried catfish.  Sometimes, he will surprise me with lunch from our favorite neighborhood spot, which always makes me smile big time, as it means a lot to me that he is so considerate.  It was my pleasure to return the favor today.

On the way back to the day shelter, I swung by that neighborhood spot we so love and picked up some homemade chili for us to share.  The smile on Frank’s face and our ensuing humorous conversation that made him belly laugh were thanks enough for me.  The truth be told, though, just taking time to slow down and spend that break with someone who makes me smile and laugh did me as much, if not more, good than it did Frank.  I nourished my body, but more importantly, I was able to feed my baby soul and make someone else’s day a bit brighter.  That’s my kind of working lunch.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 replies

  1. Love how you share your self and your stories!

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to read my stories and to share your kind words! Sometimes, I worry about sharing too much, but when I began blogging, I promised myself not to censor what I write as much as possible and to be true to myself. So, your comments mean a lot to me.

  2. I teach and too often all the staff grab lunch at desks so we can keep working. I think the lunch room banter is so important Ito foster work relationships and support. One I work with always has good leftover lunches like Frank and I have been lucky enough for him to bring me spares sometimes and it’s not just the food that’s good, it’s the connection that’s fun. I found your blog through zerotohero and have enjoyed reading through it 🙂

Leave a Reply

