Healthy Choices

7834b64f4fa670cf69d20d9ac2dbe17f

If you don’t have your health, you don’t have anything at all.  Whether it be good health on a physical, emotional, mental, or spiritual level, if one of these areas of your life is unhealthy, it can adversely affect the other areas.  As I have learned over the years, healthy choices lead to good health, and each day provides the opportunity to make positive choices.  On another bitter cold day, I had the chance to do something positive for my health and to support the health of a dear friend.

When my alarm beckoned me out of bed and onto my elliptical trainer, I will be honest.  I wanted to hibernate, not work out, and I immediately ran through a litany of reasons why I should not exercise this morning.  I had worked out on the four previous mornings.  One day off wouldn’t hurt me.  I can work out extra tomorrow.  On and on the excuses went, until I finally had to stop and honor my commitment to my physical health and well-being.  By the end of my interval workout, I felt re-energized and was so glad that I go over myself and got onto that machine.

The excuses continued at various times throughout the day when I was tempted to stray from the nutritious food that I was committed to eating, instead of mindlessly eating the sweets I dearly love and always seem to crave.  When faced with the choice to eat foods that would not help me reach my fitness goals, new excuses emerged.  I deserve a treat.  Since I worked out, I can afford to splurge.  This won’t hurt me.  Don’t get me wrong: I believe that sweets and treats are fine in moderation and that indulging in them from time to time is absolutely fine, but in my case, I knew that moderation was not what I had in mind.  So, again, I stopped listening to the misguided justifications and listened to what I knew was in my best interest.  As the day draws to a close, the choices I made have left me feeling good on every level.  One good choice leads to another, and it is my intention to keep this positive streak alive and well.

Part of what helped me to make these positive choices was that I am motivated and inspired by my friend, Mary, who works full-time, takes care of her family, and remains dedicated to working out on a regular basis.  Her commitment to her health is admirable, and I appreciate her support of my goals.  To help her continue to take such great care of herself, this morning, I sent her a gift subscription to one of my favorite magazine that focuses on health and wellness.  Mary, act surprised when you get the gift card in the mail next week!  Mary is interested in many of the same diet and exercise topics and issues that I am, and I thought that this magazine would be a valuable resource for her.  She is a positive influence in my life, and I enjoyed being able to do something positive for her.

I am grateful for my health, and I don’t take it for granted.  These decisions need to be made on a daily basis, and I will continue to make them.  I want to live a very long, healthy, and happy life, and I want the same for Mary.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Great advice, and having read that; I will now go and have my walk. thanks for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

