It’s in the Cards

090e35b3aebbda835f0e0db19d1253cd

Given how impatient I tend to be, you would think that I would have all but abandoned the practice of mailing cards in favor of the immediacy of texting, e-mailing, and the seemingly endless social media options available to communicate with others.  Don’t get me wrong; I do send well wishes and greetings electronically on almost a daily basis, but I still find something special about sending cards to my friends and family to commemorate a special occasion or convey a particular sentiment.  Today, I sent someone a card who could really use it right now.

My dear friend bravely battled breast cancer eighteen months ago, and during that time, she often made me laugh hysterically and reassured me that she would be okay, when I was supposed to be the one providing the laughter and reassurance.  We celebrated when she kicked cancer to the curb, and we shed tears when we learned last month that the cancer has taken up residence in her lymph nodes.  There is nothing tangible I can do for her to alter her situation, because believe me, if I could, I would do anything to make cancer go away forever this time.  She has asked me to pray for her, which I do daily, and I text her weekly to check in with her to see how she is doing, to share in irreverent joke, and to discuss our beloved University of Kentucky basketball team, but today, I wanted to do something more until we can celebrate her next remission.

So, I perused the aisles of Hallmark until I found just the right card, and I wrote a heartfelt message to her.  When I sealed the envelope and put it in the mail, I said a silent prayer that when she opened it that it would make her smile, remind her that she is still the same funny, beautiful, loving, and extraordinary person she has always been, and make her feel supported and loved.  While I could have put all of that in a text or an e-mail, just like I still love the feel of a book in my hands as opposed to the feel of an e-reader, I have to believe that some people, like my friend, still light up when they see a card addressed to them.  It is a small gesture, but sometimes, love and concern are best conveyed in small, unexpected ways, at least that’s what I am hoping for in this case.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , ,

8 replies

  1. I moved to Louisville about a year ago from Erie,Pa.my precious daughter still lives there and we buy cards from the dollar store and sent them to each other often. It is nice to get something in the mail other than bills. We call it fun mail. Kristi I truly love your blogs. I always anticipate the next one.

    • Ed, thank you so much, as I am so very glad that you enjoy my blogs. My mom used to send me a card every week when I was away at college, and I still send my out-of-town friends and family cards throughout the years. Finding a card in the mail always beats finding a bill! I thank you for sharing such a great story about your daughter and for always brightening my day with your kind words and support.

  2. If your card to your friend conveys the message in your post I am sure your friend will be uplifted when she receives it.

    Cards are always special in our family. My youngest daughter is a wonderful artist and her hand made cars are special

    • Thank you so much, and I hope that you are right. I cannot even draw a decent stick person, so, I admire your daughter’s artistic talents. Handmade cards are truly special, and I am sure that hers have been treasured by the recipients.

  3. I’m an ’emailer’ or texter of messages and have ceased to send Christmas cards now. But, come birthdays or special occasions I don’t think you can beat that card that arrives in the snail mail. Its always a thrill to see a handwritten envelope in my opinion 🙂

    • It is funny that you mention sending Christmas cards, as I used to send a large quantity of cards/picture cards with hand written notes, and then, I just sent picture cards without a hand written note, and finally, three years ago, I ceased sending them at all. It was one more thing that stressed me out during the chaos of the holidays, while I felt guilty at first, it actually felt liberating! Like you, though, I continue to send out birthday cards and cards for other special occasions, and I also love to receive cards. I am glad to know that I am not alone!

  4. Just found your blog today and instantly love it. I’ve been on a campaign to use the “real” mail and send something to at least one person a week for the past year. It’s really fun to send randomly timed cards to family and friends.

    I’m looking forward to reading lots more of your blog entries, even if you are a Kentucky fan, ha ha ha.

    ~Syracuse Orange all the way!

    • Kay, thanks so much for taking the time to read my blog and for campaigning to keep the mail system and the card industry alive! I am glad I am not the only one who values sending and receiving “real” mail. Some of my best friends are New Yorkers, so, even though, I bleed blue, I can give a nod to Syracuse orange, just not when they play UK:)

Leave a Reply

