Rewind

bd8a010c9f778893d2c9275f66098173

I am fond of the saying that if you want to do something badly enough, you’ll find a way, not an excuse.  Unfortunately, this week, I found plenty of excuses not to blog.  Take your pick from my car broke down, I have been house and pet sitting for family, work was hectic, I have been plagued by a sinus headache and fatigue, and I had lots of curve balls that life threw at me this week.  So, while I did not find a way to blog, nonetheless, I did find plenty of ways to be kind to myself and others since I last blogged on Monday:

Tuesday:

  • When my shower and car bookended my day by both suddenly ceasing to work, I put both mishaps into perspective and found humor and gratitude in both cases.  My positive attitude did not fix my shower or car, but it prevented me from feeling “broken” by frustration and anger over these situations that I could not control.
  • I sent positive messages to my sweet friend who was undergoing her third round of chemotherapy to combat the cancer that dared to come out of remission (that stupid cancer has no idea who it’s messing with, as it is tough, but friend is far tougher) and another dear friend who was preparing to undergo hip replacement surgery.  I let them both know that they were in my heart, thoughts, and prayers, and I hope that this cheered them up and eased their worries.

Wednesday:

  • I spent my day off of work indulging in the sacred ritual of spending time with Beth Ballard, an intuitive messenger, who left me feeling hopeful, inspired, and joyful.  I also had a therapeutic massage that left me both relaxed and re-energized on every level.  This mid-week break was definitely one of the highlights of the week!
  • I took my friend who had hip surgery some special get well gifts and cards from my daughters and me, and I visited with him for awhile.  If laughter really is the best medicine, I made sure that he received a heaping dose of it!

Thursday:

  • After not sleeping well all week, I broke my pattern of staying up late and went to bed early and got a good night’s sleep.  Sleep definitely does a body, not to mention a baby soul and spirit, good!
  • I received an unexpected surprise in the form of an e-mail from the daughter of one of my favorite guests at the day shelter for homeless men where I work.  Jerry passed away unexpectedly last November, and I shared his story in this post, “A Eulogy of Sorts“.  Jerry’s daughter sent me a note thanking me for being there for both her and her Dad, and she shared with me the difficulty she was having in the months since he died.  I sent her a note offering her my continued support, along with some community resources, and I felt Jerry’s presence and appreciated her gratitude.

Friday:

  • As I reviewed this past week and the first month of the new year, at first, I lamented the missed opportunities and repeated mistakes I have made in relation to my goals, but just like I did earlier in the week, I quickly changed my perspective and attitude.  Instead of becoming discouraged and throwing in the towel, I made note of the progress, no matter how small, I had made and psyched myself up to learn from my mistakes and to build on my successes.  I am confident that next week and next month will be better . . .much, much better.
  • I shared hugs, smiles, and chats with several of the guys who were at the day shelter today.  It was worth taking some time away from my administrative duties to spend time with these special men, and truth be told, as usual, I probably got more out of our interactions than they did. 

So, that’s what I was able to do during a hectic, excuse-filled week, and I am looking forward to seeing what I can do for myself and others in the weeks ahead, as I set aside the excuses and embrace finding ways to do what I want and need to do.  Let’s see what you all can do, as well, and together, we can change our lives and the lives of countless others.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

6 replies

  1. I feel like I was kicked in the head today. Gotta regroup. Afterall tomorrow’s a brand new day!

  2. I am enthused by your optimism of looking ahead, rather than dwelling on any lost time of the past.
    Great attitude!

  3. Thank you Kristi…I had had a similar week and your positive words and actions were inspiring….

Leave a Reply

