Thrice As Nice

38888411e180d8cfb54a87490975c6cd

It is said that good things come in threes, and today, I found this quote to be true on this Thursday.  For, I found some joy in doing three things for myself, and I bought three surprise gifts for some significant people in my life.  Sometimes, doing just one thing a day isn’t enough, so, I did the following to make a positive difference and share some kindness:

    • When I received some negative feedback that did not ring true, instead of convincing myself that what I knew in my heart and mind to be patently false was the absolute truth, I stood up for myself and did not assume this misplaced blame.  Too often, I digest other’s opinions and regurgitate them as the truth, usually at my own expense.  Today, though, while I respected this person’s opinion, I did not allow it to undermine my own sense of self-worth.  Knowing who I am took the sting out of their criticism.
    • This evening, when I reflected on some situations that have troubled me, I allowed myself to indulge in a good, but brief, cry to wash away the self-doubt and grief, and then, I allowed myself to have a good, long laugh.  I honored the pain, but I didn’t wallow in it.
    • Sometimes, it is very easy for me to use work and family responsibilities to isolate myself, so, I reached out to some new friends to organize an evening out with them in a couple of weeks.  It gives me something to look forward to, and it is another step in creating my ongoing new “normal”.
    • I bought Valentine’s Day gifts for my ex-husband from our two daughters.  We are not in love with one another, but we both genuinely love and respect each other.  He remains one of my best friends and biggest supporters, and he is an amazing father.  While this holiday is generally reserved for lovers, I like to think of it as a day to show our family and friends that we love them.  So, my ex-husband is quite deserving of the gifts I bought, as he is loved and cared about by our daughters and me.
    • I bought three gift cards for the teachers’ luncheon at my daughters’ school.  If anyone deserves to be surprised with gifts to remind them how appreciated and valued they are, it is teachers. 
    • I sent a small gift to someone whom I have a fractured relationship with at the moment.  I came across something that this person likes, and I wanted to be able to let this person know that I appreciate what our relationship has meant to me over the years.  Relationships change, but my gratitude for this person has not.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Kristi,

    Nice to read this on Single Awareness Day. Bravo young lady!

    Jeb

Leave a Reply

