Firing on All Cylinders

1a64e7e2b1e06c8fa9d05cceb43791fa

It was another insanely beautiful spring day here in Kentucky, and I found myself smiling ear to ear for no particular reason at all.  This feeling of happiness that once eluded me has become part of my daily existence to the point that I don’t always notice it, but a little while ago, as the cool breeze came through the windows to cool down the house and the sound of my daughters’ chatter and laughter filled the air, I was acutely aware of a feeling of inexplicable joy.  Such a pure emotion used to scare me, as I wondered when it would end, but today, I was able to acknowledge and embrace it.

I have come to believe that while it is possible to be happy without attaching this feeling to an event or a person, I also understand that happiness is a choice.  So, I began to review the choices that I made over the weekend that helped to cultivate my feelings of happiness, and these are some of the things that led to my elevated mood this evening:

  • I spent time outside playing with my daughters and doing yard work with bright sunshine and blue skies overhead and lush, green grass beneath my feet.  Nature has a way of reawakening my baby soul when it has been dormant during the winter of life, and even something like cutting the grass becomes an almost spiritual practice.
  • I took time out from playing chauffeur for my daughters’ today to take a solo Sunday drive down my beloved River Road.  I had the windows down and the music turned up, and I felt completely free and re-energized.  The open road opened my heart and mind in numerous ways, and I allowed the sights and sounds to envelop me fully, as I stayed in a moment that I didn’t want to end.
  • After a good night’s sleep, I greeted yesterday and today slowly by enjoying several cups of hot ginger tea and a leisurely breakfast with my daughters, instead of rushing to tackle household chores and to complete our errands.  Slow and steady definitely was the way to run this weekend’s “race”.
  • I acknowledged some personal and professional decisions that have yet to be made, but rather than obsessing over the lack of resolution, I told myself that, in time, I would have more clarity to make an informed decision that would enable them to tie up these loose ends.  I believed it, and let the worries fade away.
  • I fed myself spiritually by indulging in some of my favorite readings and by saying prayers of gratitude for all I have, which far outweighs what I do not have in my life.

There were other actions and thoughts that made an ordinary weekend nothing short of extraordinary, but these were among the highlights.  It definitely bodes well for the week to come and for the life that follows.

That’s another story . . .



Categories: That's Another Story

Tags: , , , , ,

4 replies

  1. Sounds like a lovely weekend indeed! 🙂

  2. Hello. I have not heard from you for a while and I am so glad that you are in a happy place. all the best 🙂

    • Hello to you, my friend, and thank you for continuing to be there for me! I have been busy, in a good way, and it feels so good to be back in the groove with my writing and so many other aspects of my life. You always inspire me with your own journey, and it is comforting to know that we never are alone in what we face. The best is yet to come, and we deserve it!

Leave a Reply

