Truth in Advertising

Photo of a Boy Wearing Glasses and a Word of the Day Quote

Photo Credit: Pinterest

It is said that honesty is the best policy and that you should never look a gift horse in the mouth.  Today, these two sayings collided at the day shelter for homeless men where I work, and I am left wondering whether either of these statements is wise, after engaging in the following exchange with one of our guests:

Gentleman (holding out a bottle of pink grapefruit carbonated water): Here, Miss Kristi, I want you to have this.

Me:  That is so kind of you, but why don’t you keep it for later?  It’s a bit warm today, and you need to stay hydrated.

Gentleman (shaking his head): Oh no; it tastes terrible!  I don’t want it, but you can have it.

Irregardless of this questionable gift, I have to tip my hat to both his honesty and his sincerity, but I did not tip back the drink . . .



Categories: Irregardless . . .

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 replies

  1. What an outstandingly funny post! I can’t decide whether the gentleman is amazingly stupid or diabolically smart.

  2. This is SO funny. It made me laugh and brightened my day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

