Gratitude Day 14

Beach And Ocean

Photo Credit: keeperofthehome.org

There is still half of a day left, but I am getting an early start on sharing my gratitude list today.  One, I have much to be grateful for already.  Two, one of the things I am grateful for today will prevent me from writing later this evening.  It is a good day indeed, and here are a few reasons why:

  1. I woke up in a warm home feeling safe and sound, just as I have every day.  Today, though, I didn’t take this for granted, for the tragic events of last night’s terrorist attacks in Paris remain fresh in my mind.  Waking up knowing that my family and friends are not in danger at the moment and neither am I truly is a gift, and I appreciate that sense of peace more than ever.
  2. I shared a great conversation and lots of laughter with my person this morning.  Again, as the world mourns with and for Paris, it is not lost on me how fortunate I am to chat with someone who makes me laugh uproariously during such a somber time.  If laughter is the best medicine, I received a healthy dose to start my day.
  3. I had time to myself this morning to savor my favorite hot green tea and do nothing.  Absolutely nothing.  I tend to hit the ground running every day, and even when the ground hits back, I keep going.  I often feel like unless I am constantly doing something, then I am not doing anything at all.  I was pleasantly surprised how good it felt to be still.  This morning, just being trumped doing.
  4. Finally, I am very grateful for the reason I will not be able to blog tonight.  I am taking my two daughters to the University of Kentucky men’s basketball game at Rupp Arena.  I grew up listening to the great Cawood Ledford calling UK games on the radio and watching the Cats play on television, and Rupp Arena was a magical and mythical place.  To be able to share this experience with my two favorite UK fans is pure joy.  It also reminds me how lucky I am that their dad and I have such a strong relationship, as this is “his” time with our daughters.  Since we divorced 4 years ago, though, we have never put “his” time or “my” time ahead of our daughters.  He is more than willing to share his time with me to be able to take them to something that they will enjoy so much, and, for that, I am happy and grateful.  Now, let’s go Big Blue!!!

If this is how the day has started out, I look forward to what the rest of the day will bring.  No matter what happens, I hope to appreciate all of it.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 replies

  1. I love how you savour the here and now and appreciate all that you have.

  2. Love those days when “being” trumps “doing”!

Leave a Reply

