Gratitude Day 18

Beach And Ocean

Photo Credit: jillconyers.com

This 18th day of November is barely underway, but here I am writing about what I am grateful for already.  The practical reason for posting this so very early is because later in the day, I will undergo surgery for breast cancer, and I am not sure if I will be able to post something this evening.  Although, I have a feeling that if I did, it may be much more revealing and entertaining if I did, thanks to a post-operative drug-induced haze!

While I am still of somewhat sound mind and sound body, I give you my daily gratitude list.  I am truly grateful for:

  1. Access to the appropriate healthcare I need right now.  I am very fortunate to live in a city with excellent surgeons and oncologists, all of whom are about a 10 minute drive from my home.  I have a number of options when it comes to my healthcare providers, and I have full confidence in them and know that I am in skilled and capable healing hands.
  2. My family’s assistance.  My parents will be taking care of me today, as they shuttle me to and from the hospital, while my ex-husband will be taking care of our two daughters.  It is reassuring to know that my parents will be there with me and that my daughters will be well cared for and loved, as always, by their dad.  I owe each of them a debt of immense gratitude.
  3.  A silent night.  The cloak of darkness feels like a warm and cozy blanket tonight, as it has left me feeling peaceful and content.  Even though I should be sleeping right now, I am enjoying the stillness of the night too much to shut my eyes to it.
  4. Everyone who reads my blog.  I have said it before, and I will say it again; I still cannot believe that anyone is interested in my little dog and pony show.  Apparently, some people are, though, and for each of you, I am grateful for your interest and support these last 3 1/2 years. Stay tuned, as things are getting more and more interesting, to say the least, now that cancer has been thrown into the mix.
  5. Coming to the end of my “To Do” list.  I have not completed everything that I planned on doing before surgery, but I am very close to finishing it.  By getting so much accomplished, I now can focus on my recovery, instead of fretting about laundry, yard work, etc.  When my surroundings are neatly organized, I feel like my life is, as well.  It’s worth the long hours to see that list dwindle to next to nothing!

Good night, good morning, and good day!

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 replies

  1. Even though I should be sleeping, too, I am glad I was up when you posted this. Now I know to pray specifically for you and the surgery tomorrow. May God guide the surgeon’s hands and give him or her wisdom, and may you feel His peace and healing as you recover. FT hugs, Kristi!

  2. Kristi you are in thoughts and prayers. Bless you.

Leave a Reply

