Just Because

Photo OF Anne Frank

Photo Credit: questionall.tumblr.com

I used to wonder what it would be like to attend my own funeral, and recently, I got a preview of sorts.  Shortly after I was diagnosed with breast cancer, I have been receiving numerous calls, emails, texts, cards, flowers, food, mementoes, and get well wishes from friends and family near and far.  Every arrival creates a surreal moment for me, as I feel fine, except for occasional tingling and slight tenderness at the site where some of the lymph nodes were removed, and other than a couple of new scars, I look the same, too.  So, all of the kind words and gestures often leave me feeling as if I am having an outer body experience and watching my wake and funeral.

In no way do I mean this to come across as morbid or ungrateful, as I cannot begin to express enough gratitude for every single person who has expressed their love, care, and concern for me.  It has been overwhelming for someone who is more accustomed to the being the giver, and to be honest, I feel unworthy and undeserving.  I feel like I should be really sick or, well, dead to receive such accolades.

This sense of being too well for people to express their love and support for them led me to think about how often we wait until a tragedy strikes or a death occurs to show others that we care.  While such expressions of love and kindness definitely are needed during difficult times, they should not be saved for such “special” occasions like  good China.  Nor should they be reserved only for people whom we deem to be worthy of our acts of kindness.  Kindness and love are for everyone, everywhere, anytime.

I know that this concept of not waiting until it is too late to make a positive difference in the lives of others is not original, but until we all start doing this on a daily basis, it bears repeating.  How and what you choose to do are not as important as actually doing them.  Intending to make that call, go for a visit, say how you feel, pay that compliment, and countless other kind words and actions mean nothing until you share them others. And even though it is somewhat awkward to receive this unexpected attention for being initiated into this club, trust me, it is just what the doctor ordered to know that I am surrounded by people who support and love me.  Please, do not wait for the right moment or wait until it is too late, because someone longs for what you have to offer right now.  What’s the reason?  Just because you can!

That’s another story . . .



Categories: That's Another Story

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 replies

  1. I try to be mindful of this. Thanks for the reminder. Glad you are encircled in love

  2. I was sorry to hear of your diagnosis. You are strong and I am positive that you will some OK.
    Take care and best wishes

Leave a Reply

