Sweet (20)16

Zero Dean New Year's Quote In White Lettering On A Black Background

Photo Credit: inspirationalpicturequotes.blogspot.com

Welcome to 2016, the year that I have been anticipating almost since 2015 began.  As the stroke of midnight and the dropping of the ball in Times Square ushered in this much desired year, I felt a palpable shift in the world and in myself.  Perhaps, it was the collective good intentions, resolutions, hopes, and dreams being offered up by all of us who look to the new year as 365 days of endless possibilities, unexpected opportunities, second chances, miracles, and lessons to be learned.  No matter what happened previously, the new year puts the past to bed, grounds us in the present moment, and gives us hope for the future.  That’s the power, beauty, and mystery of life, as everything can change in an instant, and at midnight, it did.

During the first few moments of this new year, an image of a sprawling field, similar to those I marvel at when I drive around my beloved Kentucky, kept creeping into my mind.  The field was covered in a fresh blanket of snow that was pure and untouched, and the mere thought of this fictional place ignited the very real feelings of contentment, peace, and happiness.  This simple image symbolized the new year and how I view it.

Part of me wanted to leave the snow-covered field untouched and unexplored, as its simple beautiful was exquisite and serene.  The other part of me wanted to bound across that field with wild and reckless abandon and take in every bit of it.  Those conflicting feelings greeted me this morning, as I thought about the intention I wanted to set for today and for the other 364 days.  I was torn between wanting to wallow in doing nothing and wanting to do everything all at once, and for a fleeting moment, I felt the pangs of feeling stuck.  Again.  Then, the words shared with me several years ago by my wise friend and mentor, Trude, echoed in my head and my heart:

Do not let your life be an accident.

That one phrase reminded me that living with intention is the way to get “unstuck”, and I thought back to that snow driven field and what it represents.  It occurred to me that I could have this first day of the year feeling every day, if I lived intentionally.  Midnight is a reset button, and if we are fortunate enough to see a new day, we have the chance to both cherish the untouched day and decide how to leave our mark on it.

Today, I renewed the daily practice of setting intentions and doing at least one thing to leave my unique mark on the 2016 landscape.  I intend to make each day count, to make this year memorable for all of the right reasons, and to make a positive difference in my life and the lives of those I encounter along the way.  These are not resolutions as much as they are more like daily revolutions.  My life is not an accident and neither is your life.

Just one thing each day . . .

 

 



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , , , ,

16 replies

  1. Beautifully said Kristi Jo. May each day be a fresh beginning in this adventure we call our lives. Happy 2016!!

  2. Your post is especially poignant to me as I am facing surgery for cancer on the 12th, I hope that some part of my life will have left an impact when it is over, that my life isn’t in fact an accident. Our wealth is determined not by what we own, or how much money we have but by the quality of the lives that we are privileged to call our friends.

    • Your words are truly beautiful, and I thank you for sharing them. My prayer is that your surgery goes well and that a full recovery awaits you and all of us on this club. Your life is not an accident, and the world needs what you bring to it.

  3. Thank you for your beautiful words of wisdom May happiness and joy and strength and courage surround you each and every day of this year especially as you receive the blessings of healing that are they on their way to you this very minute. All love to you dear Kristi Jo.

    • Trude, heartfelt thanks and much love for being my dear friend and wise mentor! Time with you is always time well spent, as I come away feeling better, brighter, and lighter. I am so excited to see what 2016 brings for both of us, and I look forward to seeing you in this new year.

  4. Wonderful post and sweet sixteen to you too 🙂

  5. Wonderfully written. I live in Indiana, so we are next door neighbors. Each time a fresh snow falls across our land, I am tormented by the same urges you’ve expressed. There is little that beats the glow of a freshly fallen, yet untouched bed of snow -except, being the first one to run through it.

    There is a park, close by, that has a lake, and a path around that lake. The dogs and I will rush over, after the snow falls. Walking through the woods, the edges of the lake crusty with ice, and a path of snow to guide me -well, it is a peace I cherish.
    http://www.fiddledeedeebooks.wordpress.com

  6. Hi,
    I know KSBeth, Dvaal, and Rellick.
    I thought your article was beautifully written. It reminded me of a Robert Frost poem, Into the Woods although it didn’t snow in that poem.
    I met you on Danny Ray’s site. Congratulations on being his featured blogger! I was his featured blogger too! Perhaps you’ll check out my blog especially if you could use a blogging tip or two; that what I blog about.
    Janice

Trackbacks

  1. Featured Bloggers 1/6/16: Networking 101 | Dream Big, Dream Often

Leave a Reply

