The Year of Living Intentionally-Day 4

Black Text On White Background About Living

Photo Credit: sun-gazing.com

Four days into living intentionally, and I have made a number of discoveries:

  1. Living intentionally is hard work.  Sometimes, it is really hard.  Several times today, I found myself tip toeing back to my safety zone and allowing unproductive or negative thoughts to creep back into my consciousness.  Even though those thoughts and feelings definitely do not feel good on any level, challenging them is difficult, at times.  Living intentionally involves being vigilant about what goes on in my mind, as much as what goes on around me, and it’s funny how dealing with events beyond my control seems easier than dealing with the thoughts I can completely control.  That said, this heightened attention to my thought process and feelings has made it impossible to continue to ignore them, and I know that just like getting back into physical shape, these mental gymnastics will get become easier, right?  Right?!
  2. Living intentionally is scary.  One of today’s intentions was to follow-up on a business idea that has been percolating in my head.  This is an idea that I am passionate about and believe in whole-heartedly.  So, why then did I procrastinate in following through with it tonight when I had time to do so?  Because taking that small step made it feel so real, and when faced with reality, I began to question myself and doubt my dream.  In order to avoid any disappointment or potential failure, I gave up, before I got started.  Then, I took a leap of faith and took the first step, even though I still felt afraid, had doubts, and had unanswered questions.  I did it!
  3. Living intentionally is unsettling.  For the past four days, I have felt like I am having an out-of-body experience of sorts, as I observe my thoughts and feelings, instead of allowing them to roam unchecked.  I liken it to moving into a new home, yet until you get settled into your new surroundings, you feel like a guest.  I keep telling myself that these feelings are temporary, yet my commitment to living intentionally is not.
  4. Living intentionally is a daily commitment.  As I have chronicled for these first four days of the year, I set intentions every day to help keep me focused and to live with a greater sense of purpose.  In the past, I have started off the new year with high hopes and a laundry list of resolutions, but often, I would abandon them when I allowed life to get in the way.  This year, I intend to change that, and I would say that I am off to a good start.

It is not my intention to write about my endeavors every day this year.  So, when I miss some days along the way, it just means that I am out living life . . .intentionally, of course.

Just one thing each day . . .

 



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

2 replies

  1. The place of not knowing is the place of vulnerability….a sacred place that take courage to embrace and “be” with…..changing comfort zones takes great faith …..

Leave a Reply

