The Year of Living Intentionally: Day 21

Quote About Jumping In Black Text On Pale Pink Background

Photo Credit: flipandstyle.com

Recently, I received an email from my person.  Since we often exchange emails, I wasn’t too surprised when I saw it in my inbox, but I was surprised when what I thought was a music video ended up being a video clip that took my breath away, literally and figuratively.  When I clicked on the video, I recognized Steve Harvey on the set of “Family Feud”, and I thought it was going to be a funny outtake from the show.  Again, I was wrong.  My curiosity was piqued, so, I watched the clip, and now, I cannot breathe.

These are the opening words from the clip that inspired and terrified me:

I’m going to share something with you that every successful person has to do, including you, believe it or not.  Every successful person in this world has jumped. Eventually, you are going to have to jump. You cannot just exist in this life. You have got to try to live. If you are waking up thinking that it’s gotta be more to your life than it is, man, believe that it is.”

I felt as if he were speaking directly to me, as I have been engaged in a similar internal struggle for years.  This sense of wanting to do more with, and in, my own life has intensified after experiencing a number of profound personal and professional losses last year.  It has become overwhelming since my recent diagnosis of breast cancer.  Instead of the tick tock of a biological clock, I hear the deafening tick tock of my life clock, with Steve Harvey’s words now joining the chorus.

I love the idea of jumping into a life that finds me thriving, not merely surviving and going through the motions.  That thought inspires, motivates, and excites me.  Then, there are the thoughts of failure and being hurt again that terrify and paralyze me.  I am on the brink of either daring to jump or falling into the abyss.

I know what I want.  I just don’t know how to get there.  Sometimes, I feel like the gifts and passions that have been entrusted to me are cruel jokes, in that they are there, yet just out of my reach, and I don’t know how to get from here to there.  I want to jump, but I don’t know what I am jumping into.

One of my dreams is to combine my love of writing and blogging with helping others and making a positive difference in the world and to be able to do so for a living.   I have so many ideas for blogs, websites, and books, yet I feel stuck.  I am not sure what the next best step should be, but I know that I need to figure it out, then take it.

For now, I am heeding my person’s advice to stay positive and take steps each day to reach my goals.  I have fallen and gotten up countless times, and now, it is time to jump.

Just one thing each day  .   .    .

 

 

 



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , , , ,

14 replies

  1. I saw this video it was fabulous!!

  2. You write: “I know what I want. I just don’t know how to get there.” Well, no one knows the process till they walk thru it….simple as that. Knowing what you want is the vision…..write it down….and write down where you are now….the in between space is the “I don’t know how to get there” you speak of….SO…each day do something, some action that moves you in baby steps toward the vision you got your eye on…that is the “what I want” you speak of….and write what you did in the empty space betwn the two…you will begin to see the path you are making with your actions…..a jump ..a leap….is often made in small steps….being paralyzed by fear keeps us in the comfort zone and blocs the vision….faith takes place in the unknown space….and I know from experience that space is guided by something I call the Great Mystery that holds me safe all the while I am in it taking those baby steps and keeping my eye on the Vision. You can do this….

    • Trude, I thought of you as I wrote this, as I would love to spend some time with you to talk more about it, if you would like. Your words are wise, comforting, and true, as are you, and I am so grateful to have you in my life. The fear of change and the unknown are creating some anxiety at the moment, and I am trying to navigate it. Many thanks and much love to you always!

  3. Thst excites me as well Kristi Jo!! I too am working on a life where I thrive and not merely survive!! Your blogs remind me of that whenever I read them. So you are already helping people with your writing!! Bless you for that.. stay safe and warm my friend.

Leave a Reply

