The Year of Living Intentionally: Day 39

Bird Perched In A Field

Photo Credit: gramfeed.com

Today was riddled with waves of anxiety and fear, as I stood with one shaky foot in the past and took an even shakier step toward the future.   It is one thing to know what you want, and it is an entirely different thing altogether to take steps to go after it.  As I set my personal and professional intentions for the day, I became paralyzed.

I have a very clear vision before me of the personal and professional life that I want to create, and today, I realized that I cannot figure out how to get from having a vision to having it all by myself.  Part of this realization provided some much-needed relief, while another part of it ignited a firestorm of self-doubt and frustration.  As I contemplated whom to ask for help, my mind was assaulted a string of what ifs:

  • What if I am not ready?
  • What if I ask for help, and I get laughed at?
  • What if I pursue these goals and fail miserably?
  • What if I get hurt?
  • What if these goals are not the ones I should pursue?
  • What if I am making a mistake?

Each question began to morph into reasons, or rather excuses, as to why I should retreat to the safety and comfort of my life of unrealized dreams, except it felt anything but safe and comfortable there.  Now, I was really stuck.  So, I did something that is difficult for me to do.  I asked for help.

As awkward and scary as it felt to share one of my most personal goals with some trusted friends, I knew that they were the ones who would understand and support me.  I was right.  Sharing this with them took some of the fear out of the unknown, as I know that I am not going this alone any more.  Later this week, two other dear friends are going to talk with me about some professional goals I have, and again, I know that these conversations will keep me going in the right direction.

So, today I definitely learned that the best of intentions mean nothing without the appropriate actions to support them, and the best of intentions also need the best of friends to help make them a reality, sometimes.

Just one thing each day . . .

 



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Kristi Jo you are blessed to have a wonderful support system for when those nagging doubts come to call. You also have the inner strength and wisdom to guide you through your anxiety.

    Have a good night

Leave a Reply

