The Year of Living Intentionally: O Happy Day

Photo Credit: thyme-is-honey.com

Photo Credit: thyme-is-honey.com

Today was a perfectly ordinary day.  I filled each hour of the day doing all of the things that needed to be done at home and at work before the day was done.  As the day subtly unfolded before me, I made a startling discovery.  For no particular reason, I felt happy.  Inexplicably happy.  The type of happy that makes you feel like anything is possible and that you can do anything at all.

There was no particular catalyst for this happiness, and for once, I didn’t over think it.  Sometimes, when I experience such positive feelings, I wonder how long it will last and wonder if and when it will return.  Almost as soon as I begin to feel happy, I allow negative thoughts to take them down a notch, lest I get too happy.  Today, I got out of my own way and committed to unbridled happiness, and there was no turning back.

At one point, I took a walk by myself through my neighborhood, and it was sensory overload, blissfully so.  I could feel the contrast of the warmth of the sun and the cool breeze on my face, which felt both soothing and energizing.  As spring prepares to make a triumphant return, the landscape is taking on a lush green hue, while the flowers and trees prepare to explode in colorful arrangements.  My eyes could not take in all of the beautiful scenery surrounding me, as I tried to capture every image in my mind’s eye.  I could hear the birds singing and calling to one another, and it felt as if they were performing a private concert for me.

In that moment, none of life’s challenges and heartaches, of which there always are plenty, mattered.  All I could think of was how happy I was to be enjoying such a nice walk on a pretty day.  What an amazing reminder of what can happen when I set daily intentions to focus on the positive, to be grateful, and to feel happy.  It really was an ordinary day, and it felt absolutely extraordinary.

Just one thing each day. . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , ,

6 replies

  1. I love moments like that. I live for them. And the quote you shared is beautiful.

  2. Kristi, thanks for reminding me that we need to get our of own way sometimes to enjoy the abundance in our lives!

  3. What a wonderful day for you Kristi….hope we can all hold on to those kind of days. Hugs. .

Leave a Reply

