Hope Scarves

When I am asked to do something for someone, I have a tough time turning a deaf ear to their requests.  In this case, though, I did so without hesitation.  Then, I changed my mind.

When I received an email from Amy Keller, the Director of  Hope Scarves, asking me if I would like to be featured as a Face of Hope, I did something completely uncharacteristic and absolutely un-southern of me.  I deleted the email.  Poof.  Gone.  No response.

I didn’t give it a second thought, until my friend and Hope Scarves Board Member, Katie Windham, followed up with me a couple of weeks later to make sure that I had received Amy’s request.  One of Katie’s many stellar qualities is her persistence, so, when I say that she followed up with me, she followed up with me.  Katie email all three of my accounts, so, I knew that she meant business!  With that, I prepared to stand my ground and decline the request.  I failed.

My reluctance had nothing at all to do with Hope Scarves, as this incredible organization is one that I definitely support in its simple, yet powerful, mission:

Hope Scarves is a nonprofit organization that partners with survivors to share scarves, stories and hope with women facing cancer.

 

In 2007, when Lara was diagnosed with breast cancer a friend of a friend sent her a package of scarves with a note saying, “You can do this.” It brought her tremendous hope to wear the scarves, knowing her friend beat cancer. When she finished treatment she gave several scarves to a young woman from Pittsburg with the same encouragement. When she was done with treatment she sent the scarves back to Lara. The MacGregors had since moved to Louisville and one of the first friends Lara met was about to undergo treatment. Lara brought the scarves to her and they laughed through tears as she showed her how to wear a scarf. All this time, Lara couldn’t stop thinking about what a remarkable journey these scarves were on and how each woman had a unique story and fighting spirit.

So, Lara started Hope Scarves as a way to preserve these stories and connect women. Women can request a Hope Scarf personally or one can be sent as a gift on the website (in development). The scarf comes wrapped in a happy package with the stories of the women who have worn it. We hope when a woman wraps her Hope Scarf around her head she feels the courage of the women who have worn it before her and that their stories bring her hope. When she is done using the scarf she can add her story and send it back to Hope Scarves to be sent out again.

No, my initial reaction stemmed from feeling as if I were not the best or most appropriate Face of Hope.  As I ran through the litany of reasons why I should not, could not, and would not accept their gracious invitation, I proved to be no match for Katie.  She reassured me that someone else in this stupid club may benefit from hearing my story, and that’s all it took to change my response.
While my journey does not even begin to compare with those that others have faced, and continue to face, I hope that it does what I always set out to do any time I write something.  If it can educate, encourage, and, even, entertain another person, it will make this surreal initiation into this club not in vain.  A big THANK YOU to Hope Scarves for all that you do for those of us in the club, and thank you from the bottom of my heart for asking me to share my story through your organization.  I am humbled and honored to be a Face of Hope.
That’s another story . . .


Categories: That's Another Story

Tags: , , , , ,

5 replies

  1. One reason you were “called” to do this is to bring this beautiful idea to people like me, who would never have known about it otherwise! Working with caregivers of those who are going through treatment, I can pass this along to those who might see this as a great way to support their loved ones. Thanks for sharing your story despite your reluctance and for educating me about Face of Hope.

  2. I know Raphaela. I never heard The expression hope scarves, but it sure is supportive.
    I know Danny Ray. I met you on his site. Congratulations on being his featured blogger. I was his featured blogger too. Maybe you can check out my site if you need a blogging tip or two. That’s what I write about.
    Janice

Leave a Reply

