Creating Beauty

Alice Walker Quote About CreatIng Beauty In Black Text On A White Background

Photo Credit: tedkennedywatson.com

I have visceral reactions to the world around me.  It’s a force that is not always easily explained, but it doesn’t require  a reason or explanation, other than it draws me in and leaves me wanting more.  I have had such reactions to a variety of people, places, and things throughout my life.  The sound of my person’s voice.  The sight of a beautiful Kentucky sunrise.  The feel of the earth beneath my feet when I run the trails.  The scent of lemons.  The taste of fresh ginger.

When I encounter someone or something that causes such a powerful reaction, I savor the feelings that are invoked.  Happiness.  Excitement.  Love.  There’s a palpable positive energy that such reactions generate, and this year, I set out to create my own spots of beauty in my daily life.  My surroundings have a significant impact on my emotions and energy level, so, I decided to invest in some things to ensure that it is a positive impact.

One of the trends for the new year is to pick a word.  Your word.  The idea is that this word will be your personal mantra, guide, inspiration, or whatever else you want or need it to be for 2017.  Words are meaningful, and this is one trend that I decided to follow, with my own twist.  Instead of just one word, I chose a phrase, which stands to reason, given my gift for gab.  Live the life you’ve imagined.  The minute I saw it, I knew that this was my word, or rather, my phrase for this year and every year to follow.  I have a wonderful imagination, so, the life I’ve imagined is everything I could hope for and more.  The very thought of it makes me feel re-energized, hopeful, and joyful.

The other phrase that resonated with me is one that is shared with my two daughters.  To the moon and back.  Since they were infants, I have told them, I love you all the way to the moon and back.  When my oldest daughter was a toddler, she responded to this oft said phrase with, And that’s a lot!  So, this is our phrase.  We each have identical bracelets to remind us that we love each other unconditionally and forever.  And that really is a lot!

The first day of the year found me buying a desk.  Not just any desk.  A writing desk.  I retired the wooden TV tray that had been the landing place for my laptop and gave it a new home, where more stories could and would be written.  I had no plans of buying a desk, but when I saw it, I knew that I had to have it.  Not in an impulsive or reckless spending kind of way, but in a way that resonated with my creative spirit.  The sight of this desk immediately conjures up images of being the writer I aspire to be, and it makes me feel like I am that writer.

Christmas lights are one of my favorite parts of the Christmas season.  I love white lights that twinkle brightly in the dark.  They are like manmade stars shining in the night to remind us that there is always light in the world, even when it is surrounded by darkness.  I saw these light canisters last fall in one of my favorite stores, and although I had one of my famous visceral reactions to them, I didn’t buy them.  Every time, I went into that store, I would smile to myself when I would catch a glimpse of them, but I would pass them by each and every time.  Until I couldn’t.  Last week, as the thrill of a fresh new year enveloped me, I gave these  beautiful lights a new home.  In turn, they have given me a sense of peace and joy when they illuminate the room.

All of these things are small, yet meaningful, ways that I have infused my ordinary life with extraordinary things.  They provide me with both beauty in the present and inspire me to create more beauty with my words and actions.  If charity begins at home, then, so does beauty.  And so it begins.

That’s another story . . .

 



Categories: That's Another Story

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

