Gratitude, Full House

The first night in our new home left me feeling anything but grateful.  As I stood alone amidst the boxes and chaos from the move earlier that day, I dissolved into a torrent of tears.  As I sobbed hysterically, I heard my cries shatter the silence and echo throughout the house, and I found myself wailing aloud, I want to go home. I was home, though, but it didn’t feel like it.

Fast forward a couple of months to this cold, overcast Monday, as I found myself standing alone again in this same home in tears, but this time, I wasn’t crying to go home.  This time, I was home, and I was so grateful to be here.

As I dried my tears, I wandered from room to room, calming myself and letting the warmth and coziness of our home wrap me in its invisible, protective arms.  As I caught my breath, I also caught glimpses of gratitude in each room.

In the kitchen, I gave thanks for a pantry and refrigerator full of a variety of food and all of the modern conveniences to prepare our meals and to clean up afterward.  I was grateful for the kitchen table that provides a space to share our food and lots of chatter and laughter.  I also gave special thanks to the smoke detector that serves as a sort of dinner bell for us when I am cooking!

My daughters’ bedrooms left me with a smile on my face and gratitude in my heart.  I love my daughters more than I could ever possibly convey, and I genuinely like spending time with them.  I am grateful that I am here to share the big and little moments with them, and I am happy that they continue to enjoy hanging out with me.  I sometimes still cannot believe that I get to be their mom, but I am so grateful that I am.  I hope that they are glad that I am their mom, too.

For the past 2 years, I have worked completely from home, and my office is located in my basement.  After 4 rounds of layoffs in the past year, as I worked at my desk and surveyed my surroundings this afternoon, I gave thanks for still having a job.  I also felt gratitude for being able to work from the home I now really love.  Another bonus is that every day is casual Friday.  

The last room that garnered my gratitude was the one I am in at this very moment.  My bedroom is truly my sanctuary, and on a day when my mood and thoughts resembled the gray clouds covering the sky, I was thankful to be able to retreat to it at the end of the day.  My bedroom quite simply just feels good, and it makes me feel better when I am curled up in my reading chair or in my bed.  I am so very thankful to be in this special space right now.

Home is where the heart is, and my heart is at home here. For that, and for many other things, on this day, I am grateful.

Just one thing each day. . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

